What does the Bible say about OMG?

I was sitting at a sporting event, when the lovely, Christian lady beside me shouted, “Oh, my God!” as her child made a mistake.  I cringed inside.  And then I wondered, “does she know?”  Does she know that the Bible tells us not to use God’s name in vain?

And honestly, this is not unusual.  I hear Christians do this all of the time.  Many are wonderful people who obviously love the Lord.  Is it because we just don’t hear this called sin anymore?  Are we so hardened to the use of His name due to the company we keep and the entertainment that we fill our minds with, that we just didn’t notice when we started doing it, too?

Exodus 20 is where we find the ten commandments.  The third commandment is “You shall not take the name of the Lord your God in vain, for the Lord will not hold him guiltless who takes His name in vain.”

We are not to use God’s name as a curse word.  We are not to use His name lightly.  If we study who God is, we understand a bit more why this is such a grave sin.  God is holy, sovereign, unchangeable, omnipotent, omniscient, faithful, patient, and merciful.  This is just a short list of the adjectives that could be used to describe God, the One who made a way for us to be reconciled to Him through His son, Jesus Christ.  If He is so awesome and so wonderful (and He is!), then we can understand why it is so important for us not to use His name when we are angry or surprised.

I am not writing this to point a finger or to make you feel guilty.  Quite honestly, I have personally believed for a long time, that I probably shouldn’t even say “Oh, my gosh!”  It is obviously a sadly disguised copy of the original.  And yet, I still struggle with it.  You will still hear that come out of my mouth on occasion.  Language is a hard thing to change.  When we grow angry or are surprised, we tend to forget our speech in the heat of the moment.

This devotion is by Leslie Allebach from Growing 4 Life.

http://growing4life.net/

http://growing4life.net/what-does-the-bible-say-about-omg/

About celestecharlene

I served as a medical missionary in West Africa for thirty years treating the sick and establishing health clinics in rural neglected areas.
This entry was posted in missions. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to What does the Bible say about OMG?

  1. Nita says:

    Totally agree. I always correct people in my home. The children get the old story about the boy who called wolf\; the adult simply that they should wonder if He will hear their prayers as prayers or just another interruption when they are really in need of His help.

    Hugs,Nita

  2. Wayne says:

    My father taught me the best way to break a bad habit is to replace that habit with a different one. For example; he suggested I replace any profanity that may cross my mind with his made up word … Snackelfrackle

    Admittedly, this has gotten some strange looks from people as well as questions and laughs, all of which is better than any profanity or using the Lords name in vain. It also lets them know that I don’t like that type of language. Afterword, Most are respectful of my stance and I appreciate their effort!

  3. Jonda says:

    That phrase always bothered me, too. When my kids were younger and their visiting friends would say it, I would sometimes smile and say, “Oh, you believe in God, too?” Or, I would say “hey, from now on I’m going to use your name every time I’m surprised or mad. That cool?” They usually took it in stride AND I got my point across.

Leave a Reply

