After you’re dead and gone

One of the hardest funerals I ever had to conduct when I was a pastor was for the meanest man in town. I stayed awake that night trying to think of something good to say about the deceased.

I talked of Jesus preparing a place for us and reached the part to say something good about him, but I couldn’t think of anything. I looked at the huge crowd of congressmen, police chiefs and other officials. “John Doe was well-known to all of you. I’d like to invite you to come and talk about him.”

For several minutes no one spoke or moved. Then his bent-over wife stumbled to the podium. “John was the dearest man I ever knew. He was a wonderful husband and good provider.” She sat down.

I knew the secret. He had horribly mistreated her throughout their marriage.

“Is there anyone else who would like to share?” I asked.

People shook their heads and looked away, so we buried the man.

When I die, please do not stare at me in my coffin. Maybe I’ll get cremated and avoid the viewing. Please don’t say, “Isn’t she beautiful, didn’t they do a good job with her make-up.”

When I drop dead, I’ll be looking down from Heaven and hope to hear something like this.

I know she’s in Heaven because she repented of her sins and believed on Christ.

She lived like a Christian. She tried her best to serve God.

She confessed Christ as her Savior and Lord, so I’ll see her one day in Heaven.

I’ll miss her. She was quick to forgive others.

She tried to glorify the Lord in her words. I’ll remember the testimonies she shared.

She trusted Jesus as her Savior and Lord.

She was a good friend. I already feel her absence.

I loved her sense of humor. She made me laugh.

She helped me when I needed it.

I’ll never forget her cheerfulness. She encouraged me.

What would you like them to say about you, after you’re dead and gone?

 

 

 

About celestecharlene

I served as a medical missionary in West Africa for thirty years treating the sick and establishing health clinics in rural neglected areas.
This entry was posted in missions. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to After you’re dead and gone

  1. Nita says:

    She loved her family and everyone who needed a family was made part of hers. She reminded us often that she was ready to go home whenever the good Lord called. She did not want is to mourn but rather to remember we would see her again. We will miss her but know we will see her again because scripture tells us so. (whisper They did a good job trying to make her look younger but she has gone to a place where she will always be beautiful.)

Leave a Reply

