THE LEAF

“I have been crucified with Christ; and it is no longer I who live, but Christ lives in me; and the life which I now live in the flesh I live by faith in the Son of God who loved me and gave Himself up for me.” Galatians 2:20

 

One morning I saw a lone autumn leaf on a tree, dry and brown and crinkled up, a shell of what it once had been. Even the beauty of the fall colors had left. A light breeze was blowing and the leaf was vigorously moving back and forth on its branch. It seemed as if it would be pulled from the tree and tumble to the ground at any time. Yet it remained on the branch. It seemed sad, a silly sadness perhaps, but one when you see a plant wither and die, the end of that life. Soon it would lose its hold, drop to the ground, and be crushed by passing footsteps, never to be alive or green or attached to the tree. The tree would go on, but the leaf would not.

But then I thought of what would happen to that leaf. In its crumbled state, it would become part of the ground beneath it, merging with it and giving up its remaining nutrients for a greater whole. It would nourish the soil, if even only a little and perhaps re-emerge in a blade of grass, a flower, or maybe even in another leaf. Its life wasn’t over. It was about to have a new beginning, one that might give it a life with more of an impact on its surroundings than the one before, a life more glorious.

Isn’t that what I wanted – to die to self and live for God and others?! To get so lost in my reason to be here and so forget myself that I would be willing to give all I could just to love as many as I could. My family. My friends. Even those I see as I face my day.

This morning the leaf is gone. May this be the day I finally give up my hold on whatever keeps me from my destiny in God’s will.

by Reenie Rickard

 

 

About celestecharlene

I served as a medical missionary in West Africa for thirty years treating the sick and establishing health clinics in rural neglected areas.
This entry was posted in missions. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

