Turn the other cheek.

“But I tell you, do not resist an evil person. If anyone slaps you on the right cheek, turn to him the other cheek also.” Matthew 5:39

Jesus never promised turning the other cheek would be easy. No one wants to be purposely slapped, verbally insulted, or taken advantage of. Few people stand there and do nothing while another abuses him or inflicts pain on him.

We want to hurt him because he hurt us. Or we want to put up our fists, defend ourselves, and stand up for our rights.

I had an interesting experience a month ago when someone asked me to take her to a store. Her one request multiplied into several stops, miles, and a long day.

When we returned, she thanked me and asked, “How much do I owe you?”

I wanted to say five hours of my time. Instead I smiled and said, “Nothing.”

Had I just turned the other cheek?  There wasn’t any pain in doing that, and I felt quite happy.

If someone slaps an insult on you, say nothing. Let someone take advantage of you. Respond in a non-hostile, loving way which will be a testimony of the Lord’s grace.

React humbly. Don’t retaliate. Return the slap with kindness, generosity, forgiveness, and love.

Turn the other cheek.

 

About celestecharlene

I served as a medical missionary in West Africa for thirty years treating the sick and establishing health clinics in rural neglected areas.
This entry was posted in missions. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Turn the other cheek.

  1. mflabar says:

    Yes. Jesus didn’t say “stand your ground with a handgun,” but “turn the other cheek.” Thanks.

Leave a Reply

