Hideaway

“And we know that God causes all things to work together for good to those who love God, to those who are called according to His purpose.” Romans 8:28.

There are days I just want to run away! Is it the day when the last egg rolls on the floor, when I’m late and getting later no matter how hard I try to hurry, when the checkbook has taken wings, and my curling iron has decided to quit. No, I can handle that.

But the day the card I sent to my rebellious grown child comes back “return to sender”? In bright red.

Why try? Why really?!

There’s a wallpaper picture on my computer of a small cabin surrounded by what seems to be an acre (or more) of flowers. Where is that cabin? I need a hideaway!

A hideaway from pain.

A hideaway from stress.

A hideaway from bills, and dirty dishes, and a laundry basket that grows clothes and dust balls that appear like magic as soon as I put away the vacuum. Give me a good book or two, a comfy outdoor chair, and some coffee and I’m set. Call me when I win the lottery.

Or when my daughter calls.

Faith is believing a promise even when it seems that it will never come to pass. That something good can come out of something very painful. That there’s Someone in charge who can fix this.

My heavenly papa tells me that love isn’t forced, that pain is a part of life but so is joy, and joy is coming. He even says that He’d give me that cabin but I wouldn’t really be happy for long. I need people. And in the long run, the pain is a small price to pay.

Maybe I don’t want that hideaway after all, but I sure can’t wait for heaven. Everything is right there. Perfect love. Perfect peace. Even a perfect me. Now that’s a quite a promise. Thank You, LORD.

 

By Reenie Rickard

 

About celestecharlene

I served as a medical missionary in West Africa for thirty years treating the sick and establishing health clinics in rural neglected areas.
This entry was posted in missions. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Hideaway

  1. Nita says:

    I totally understand the feeling in this post. Even though I know the joy of the Spirit should fill my heart to the bursting point, I still get hurt so easily by those around me who don’t seem to care.
    I’ve always wanted a hideaway, a little cabin in the mountains but the good Lord apparently need me to serve him right where I am. And right here I will stay until he calls me home.

Leave a Reply

