WORRY

“Casting all your cares on Him for He cares for you.” I Peter 5:7

We’re humans and worry. Over the years I’ve learned to free myself from a lot of worries. My way might sound simplistic, but it has worked for me, so I’m passing it along.

1. Give your worries to the Lord. Pray. “I give You this problem. Help me to trust You with it.”

2. Have someone worry for you. My mother, whom I loved dearly was a great worrier. She even thought of new aspects to worry about when I was the one in danger. I was always assured she worried for me, but in all her worries, there were also her prayers. So I worried less knowing she was worrying for me.

3. Make a plan. You might lose your job because of downsizing. So check out other job options, save money, and cut unnecessary expenses. Do everything in your power to plan for the possibility of it happening.

Then go back to the first step and give your worry with your plan to God.

Maybe you learned you have an illness. Will you have chemo, radiation or surgery? If there is no cure, get your heart right with God, and plan to spend eternity in Heaven.

Here’s a practical example that worked for me.

The mission director stopped at my house and told me about civil fighting that had broken out in the far north. He said, “Keep a bag packed and be ready to evacuate in case the conflicts come south.”

After I packed, I realized there was nothing else I could do about the situation except lock myself in my house and worry or follow my three steps. So I went to work and treated patients. Believe it or not, that took my mind off the danger, which thank God, passed at that time.

Have you other tips for a worry-free life?

 

About celestecharlene

I served as a medical missionary in West Africa for thirty years treating the sick and establishing health clinics in rural neglected areas.
This entry was posted in missions. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

