Confused

“For God is not the author of confusion but of peace.” (I Corinthians 14:33)

The Lord gives us peace. It is the enemy who brings confusion. The more choices I am given in a situation, the more confused I become. From where I am, all the options recommended by helpful people look good. How do I decide which of the seven choices is the right one?

I was re-writing a scene I’m working on where the heroine had been arrested unjustly. She was locked in a room and guarded by soldiers. Terrified and confused, she could do nothing except pray, trust God, and wait for a door to literally open.

My situation isn’t life-threatening, today, just a major decision.

I have felt, at times, confined in a room with locked doors and windows. Kind people give me advice. “Smash a glass and climb through a window.” Or “Use that crowbar and break the lock on one of the doors.” If I did something like that, not knowing what was on the other side, I might end up in another locked room or a worse situation.

It looks like I’m doing nothing. But I am trusting God and waiting on Him to open the right door for me. When I patiently wait on God’s will, He takes me through His door into His perfect place of peace.

“You will keep him in perfect peace, whose mind is stayed on you because he trusts in You. Trust in the Lord forever.” Isaiah 26:3

 

 

 

About celestecharlene

I served as a medical missionary in West Africa for thirty years treating the sick and establishing health clinics in rural neglected areas.
This entry was posted in missions. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Confused

  1. Julie says:

    Thanks, Celeste. Our rental ends soon, and we are still trying to find a place to live and just decided not to buy a house. It would have taken most of our savings and been very expensive. Now we are trying to watch and pray, but that is so much more difficult than just acting. Love you.

Leave a Reply

