I killed Andrew.

Readers loved Andrew in my novel, A Little Mercy, and looked forward to reading more about him in the sequel.

So why did I kill him in the beginning of A Tragic Good?

The majority of adult females today are single, divorced, or widowed. My books focus on  women who are alone.  They are committed to serving the Lord but face horrible circumstances. I needed to make Liz a widow to show this. These characters become discouraged, fail, and make wrong choices. They must depend on God for strength and courage to face evil and get through devastating situations. God takes care of them even in their tragedy and works good out of it.

He will do the same for us.

My heroines have given their hearts to the Lord and are determined to follow Him. They learn to trust Him, facing all manner of evil. With God’s presence in their lives, they have overcome all tragedies and have victory.

It’s my aim and desire that these heroines will encourage readers to surrender to Him and trust the Lord in every circumstance.

“I have called you by name. You are mine. When you pass through the waters, I will be with you. And through the rivers they shall not overflow you. When you walk through the fire, you shall not be burned. Nor shall the flame scorch you. For I am the Lord, your God.” Isaiah 43

 

 

 

About celestecharlene

I served as a medical missionary in West Africa for thirty years treating the sick and establishing health clinics in rural neglected areas.
This entry was posted in missions. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

