The Decision

“Choose you this day whom you will serve.” Joshua 1:8

I stopped to buy a loaf of bread, after I returned from Africa. Walking down the aisle, I got scared. Too many choices. With my heart pounding and empty hands, I ran out of the store.

If I couldn’t decide on which loaf of bread to buy, I’d never survive in the States.

Where I lived in a rural village, there was one type of canned tuna made locally, two kinds of tomato paste (no one bought the second one). There was hot French bread, leftover salt bread, and sugar bread (eaten by the people as a dessert.) For me, there wasn’t even a choice.

Sometime later, a missionary taught her nanny how to bake whole wheat bread and sell to Americans. The worker asked us if we could support the commerce, which we all did. Her business went so well she moved to a larger location where she sold her bread there, and I went back to eating French bread.

I don’t need to have every perfect choice handed to me, like the wheat bread decision. But being bombarded with so many options, I end up doing nothing.  I wear flip-flops in freezing weather,  eat generic plain Greek yogurt (seriously 125 flavors to pick from), and still don’t have a phone. Too many choices.

But I might find myself in deep distress one of these days if I don’t choose something.

Deciding to follow Christ was the right and only choice, the best one I ever made. It was like that wheat bread decision. Perfect.

“Choose you this day whom you will serve.”

 

 

 

About celestecharlene

I served as a medical missionary in West Africa for thirty years treating the sick and establishing health clinics in rural neglected areas.
This entry was posted in missions. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

