Me, Myself, and I

“Let nothing be done through selfish ambition or conceit, but in lowliness of mind let each esteem others better than himself.” Philippians 2:3

I’ve tried for years to find a good hair stylist. Every few months I went to a different one. When I got home my hair always looked uneven. So I trimmed it, making it more irregular.

This time I prayed before trying a new hairdresser. I surrendered my head and my hair to the Lord, which I should have done before.

After she had finished, I ran my fingers through my hair and fluffed it, trying to understand why my hair always looked uneven.

I didn’t think I was consumed with having perfect hair because I’ve left my house without even combing my hair.

As I examined my hair more carefully, I found three cowlicks. With one, hair cannot be even and will shoot out at an odd angle, but three. So that’s why my hair always looked crooked. Then I remembered something. As a child, one side of my head was always larger than the other.

So no more complaints about my hair. If I grumble, hit me on the head, but not too hard because I don’t want my lopsided head to get worse.

Seriously, everyone has a tendency at times toward self-centeredness. But as believers we should allow the strength of the Holy Spirit to control us.

“Lord, help me not to be self-centered. Fill me with the power and presence of the Holy Spirit, so I’m controlled by You and not my selfish desires. Amen.”

 

About celestecharlene

I served as a medical missionary in West Africa for thirty years treating the sick and establishing health clinics in rural neglected areas.
This entry was posted in missions. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

