Knock those troubles down

God came to give you life. Sometimes you need to grab hold of it and knock those troubles down. “The thief comes to steal and kill and destroy. I am come that they might have life and have it more abundantly.” John 10:10

The devil tries every way to wipe us out. After a week of missing money, a rained-out birthday party, disappointed guests, some bad book reviews, and an engine light that keeps coming on, I prayed. “Lord, when I open my eyes let me be in Heaven.”

A friend gave me a phone. She went with me to the library to get online, register and pay for monthly service. The phone worked. Praise God. Two weeks later my service stopped with a message that I hadn’t paid my bill, but I had the order number and confirmation that I paid, so I set the problem aside  until I had courage.

At the end of an all-day marathon with one of my neighbors, Martha said, “We must go to Wal-Mart to pay my service bill for the phone.”

Since January she’s lost three phones. When this happens she asks me to take her to buy a new one.

The clerk said, “You have no service with Wal-Mart. Who is your carrier?”

Our mouths dropped open. “What?”

Martha can’t remember. I don’t know what a carrier is. Someone looked at her phone. “This is a track phone. You must buy minutes.”

We bought the minutes. The man said,  “The minutes can’t be added unless the battery is charged. After you charge your phone, come back and I’ll add minutes.”

One of these days, someone will invent a phone that doesn’t need to be charged, will always be in the same place and you pay a phone bill every month.

I’d mustered up the courage to tackle my own phone problem. Thirty minutes after pressing numbers and waiting, I finally got a person, but I couldn’t understand her.

“Please excuse me, but I have a hard time understanding English. Repeat the last two sentences. Please excuse me, could you repeat the last sentence. Please excuse me, just repeat the last three words. Please forgive me, I have a hard time understanding English.”

“I’m referring you to the supervisor.”

This is repeated through several supervisors.

A couple hours later and a pounding headache, the top manager said, “I found the order you paid, so I’m re-starting your service but you must go online and register the phone for more service.”

“But that’s what I did.”

The next day I went down to help Martha. The phone was charging. Success. Then I picked it up.  “This isn’t the phone we took to Wal-Mart.”

“I lost that one but found this one.”

Not again.

If you have a minute, please say a prayer that God will help me straighten out all the phone problems.

Christ came to give us life and give it more abundantly. I’ve learned the hard way if I don’t grab hold of that life and deal with the problems, the devil will try to destroy me, and sometimes that’s through discouragement.

 

About celestecharlene

I served as a medical missionary in West Africa for thirty years treating the sick and establishing health clinics in rural neglected areas.
This entry was posted in missions. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

