Why do we try to conform to the world’s expectations?

“I beseech you therefore, brethren by the mercies of God, that ye present your bodies a living sacrifice, holy, acceptable unto God, which is your reasonable service. And be not conformed to this world: but be ye transformed by the renewing of your mind, that ye may prove what is that good, acceptable and perfect, the will of God.” Romans 12:1-2

Why do we struggle daily to conform to what the world expects of us? There are many boxes in the world today. The box of father, pastor, neighbor, mother, or friend are examples. We try hard to fit into the box of what is expected of us in the world but can never conform to the different expectations of those around us.

In our humanness we are disappointed with our family and friends when they don’t fit into the boxes we’ve made. They fail to say and do what we want.

In Africa I was the first female missionary to ride a motorcycle to work every day in my region. Local people were surprised to see me on that motorbike traveling to the villages to treat the sick. I’d prayed about it and since many of the communities were without regular public transportation I believed God wanted me to buy and ride the motorcycle as my means of transportation. I was no longer in that box of what was expected of lady missionaries.

I had surrendered to the Lord and believed that He was transforming my mind and life. The Lord greatly blessed the work and ministry.

Repent. Ask forgiveness. Believe in Christ. Surrender all to Him and let the Lord transform your minds and lives to serve Him.

 

About celestecharlene

I served as a medical missionary in West Africa for thirty years treating the sick and establishing health clinics in rural neglected areas.
This entry was posted in missions. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

