CHOICES

“Choose for yourselves this day whom you will serve.” Joshua 24:15

I treated patients, diagnosed, and prescribed medications in Africa. When I returned to the States my RN license was several years expired, so I needed to return to college and start again. Trying to get a loan and going back to nursing school seemed overwhelming. I took a job as a live-in caregiver for a few years. Then I put an ad on several websites applying to be an unlicensed aide for minimum wage. I competed with twenty-five and forty-year-olds. A year later and no job offers, I  decided on an early Social Security.

The medical profession is constantly changing. New drugs, procedures, and equipment. It’s understandable that I was required to return to nursing school to get a new license.

One of my missionary friends was a dental hygenist and dental assistant. In Africa she was the dentist and taught me how to pull teeth professionally. When she returned to the States at sixty her American license had expired. For family reasons she couldn’t start again, so she is a cashier at a local grocery story for minimum wage until she can retire.

Another friend was a licensed pharmacist. When she returned to the States, she didn’t want to get a loan at sixty and go back to college. She is a receptionist for minimum wage until she can retire.

Most of us end up where we are because of the choices we made in our lives. I’m thankful for mine. With God’s help I can live on a lowered income. And being retired gives me lots of time to minister to those around me and write books.

Most of our choices end when we die, except our greatest choice, which is for all eternity.

Chose you this day whom you will serve.

I choose the Lord and Him only will I serve.

 

 

About celestecharlene

I served as a medical missionary in West Africa for thirty years treating the sick and establishing health clinics in rural neglected areas.
This entry was posted in missions. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

