Let’s close the church

Jesus turned to Peter and said, “Get behind me, Satan! You are an offense to me, for you are not mindful of the things of God, but the things of men.” Matthew 16:33

I often invite people to Bible study and church and have heard many interesting responses.

“My nerves are shot. I need to rest at home.”

“Who wants to associate with those born-again believers? Two of them were cursing God and each other in the parking lot the other day.”

“I’m so full of hate, I don’t want to go to church or Bible study until all this anger and hate goes away.”

“I no longer want to come to her Bible study because she didn’t come to the birthday party.”

Recently one of my neighbors said, “You should cancel the Bible study.”

Her words were tantamount to saying, “You Christians should close the church.”

Seriously? I bit my tongue to keep from saying, get behind me Satan.

When you go to a grocery store and don’t like the meat selection, you don’t say, “Let’s close the store.”

You need nourishment to survive, so you visit other stores and find a grocery where you like the choices.

You also need spiritual food. So if you don’t like a Sunday school class, a Bible study, or a church, go find one you do like.

 

 

 

About celestecharlene

I served as a medical missionary in West Africa for thirty years treating the sick and establishing health clinics in rural neglected areas.
This entry was posted in missions. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Let’s close the church

  1. mflabar says:

    Yes. Or one you don’t like, that challenges you spiritually.

Leave a Reply

