Let us eat Lettuce

“If any of those who do not believe invites you to dinner, and you desire to go, eat whatever is set before you, asking no question for conscience sake.” I Corinthians 10:27

Have you ever eaten what was set before you, knowing it might make you seriously ill?

“Just as I also please all men in all things, not seeking my own profit, but the profit of many, that they may be saved.” I Corinthians 10:33

Lettuce was only grown in large African cities next to rivers with enough water to irrigate. Because of open sewers, all vegetables were soaked in a solution of bleach water for thirty minutes. Lettuce could be dangerous if the leaves were not soaked well to kill harmful microbes. We were instructed to never eat lettuce anywhere.

I was invited to a village ceremony. As I walked into the leader’s home,  he pointed to the table and said, “I heard you Americans love salad, so I traveled to the city and bought this just for you.”

“Thank you.” I stared at the giant bowl of lettuce leaves, wondering if I could eat them.

After I prayed, he heaped leaves on my plate with the rest of the meal. I ate them. Miraculously, I never became sick.

Today whenever I see a giant bowl of lettuce leaves I’m reminded that sometimes, we must do something unpleasant, so we won’t offend, and only then can we share the Gospel.

 

 

About celestecharlene

I served as a medical missionary in West Africa for thirty years treating the sick and establishing health clinics in rural neglected areas.
This entry was posted in missions. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

