DROP DEAD

Do not worry.

“Take therefore no thought for the morrow: for the morrow shall take thought for the things of itself. Sufficient unto the day is the evil thereof.” Matthew 6:33

Lack of money and insurance prevented me from seeing a doctor for the last few years. I’ve been in good health, exercising, and eating right without any signs or symptoms of diseases and wasn’t worried about it.

When I finally arrived at the doctor’s, I stepped into the room for them to take my vital signs and BP. Seeing the 183/110 reading, I felt the beats of my heart increasing too. I was in shock.

Another doctor came in and explained the dangers. I could have dropped dead.

I smiled at that.

“Don’t move, just rest. If it doesn’t go down, I can’t let you leave without giving you medicine. And you should get a flu shot, one for pneumonia, hepatitis, tetanus and everything on this list. You’ll need an EKG, colonoscopy, mammogram and urinalysis and on and on and on. And you’ll have to give blood today, too.”

Give blood, too! My heart pounded faster. The last time I gave a pint of blood in Africa was for someone during an emergency.

I sat there and focused on worrying.

Later, she said, “Now that you’ve rested, your blood pressure should have come down a bit.”

It had gone up two more points and my heart rate had increased, too.

“Try to relax.”

“No, I can’t relax. I’m overwhelmed watching that screen and hearing the list of medical procedures.”

It is so hard not to worry when you see test results on a screen or in print, and your racing heart tells you something is wrong.

Jesus said not to worry about tomorrow. If I had dropped dead and gone to Heaven, so what. Either way, death or life is my gain.

About celestecharlene

I served as a medical missionary in West Africa for thirty years treating the sick and establishing health clinics in rural neglected areas.
This entry was posted in missions. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

