The Lord looks on the Heart

“For the Lord does not see as man sees; for man looks at the outward appearance, but the Lord looks on the heart.”   I Samuel 16:7B

As a Christian this verse encourages me and give me hope. If I make a mistake or my tongue slips and says something I shouldn’t, I’m grateful that God sees my heart. The Lord forgives me and cleanses my heart from unrighteousness. I’m blessed because my heart is right before Him.

But this verse can bring fear and discomfort to those whose hearts are not right before God. People who have not received His forgiveness still have evil hearts. “Those things which proceed out of the mouth come from the heart, and they defile a man. For out of the heart proceed evil thoughts, murders, adulteries, fornications, thefts, false witness, blasphemies.” Matthew 15:18-19

If my heart is evil, He will forgive me and wash away my sin. But I must ask Him to forgive me.

When the Lord looks on my heart, I want Him to see a pure, good heart.

How about you?

About celestecharlene

I served as a medical missionary in West Africa for thirty years treating the sick and establishing health clinics in rural neglected areas.
This entry was posted in missions. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

