BE THANKFUL

“In EVERYTHING give thanks; for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus for you.” I Thessalonians 5:18

Like other years, I attended the annual Thanksgiving dinner at the apartment complex. The same pastor came and gave the same devotions as last year. “Let’s go around the room and everyone say what you are thankful for.” Each person was thankful for the same thing as he was last year. And of course I was too.

Since I was the last one to speak, I wanted to add a bit more. “I’m thankful for what everyone else is thankful for. Life, having Christ as Savior, knowing God’s love, family, and good health. I am abundantly grateful for all the Lord has given me. I’m thankful for a roof over my head, a bed to sleep in, clothes, running water, electricity, food to eat, and a chair to sit in. Plus many good friends and a church family who prays.”

“And soap. Yes, soap.”

I attended church in the African village. They wanted to start something called a gift exchange. I was surprised as I watched everyone hand bars of imported soap to people and then receive soap from other members.

Someone said to me. “Soap is a wonderful gift and one of the best we can give. We make our own soap, which is black and smells like cooking fat. So we are grateful for a bar of soap that smiles good.”

What do you have to be thankful for?

Maybe it’s time to sit down and count those blessings, one by one, even a bar of soap.

“In EVERYTHING give thanks; for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus for you.”

 

 

 

About celestecharlene

I served as a medical missionary in West Africa for thirty years treating the sick and establishing health clinics in rural neglected areas.
This entry was posted in missions. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

