JANUARY 5

BLESSED ARE THE POOR IN SPIRIT

Matthew 5:3 “Blessed are the poor in spirit, for theirs is the kingdom of heaven.”

Hope was about fifty years old when she volunteered to help me sweep my home, wash clothes, and run errands. She was a faithful worker and even brought me yams and papayas from her uncle’s farm.

She said, “When I was young I lived with a man as my husband for twenty years. He took many other women as wives. I was unable to have children like the others, so a doctor operated on my womb. After that, I had constant stomach pain. The suffering would have been worth it if I had had a child, but I never did.”

“After I accepted Jesus as my Savior, my husband no longer wanted me and sent me here to my home village. Every day I love and serve Jesus and trust Him to give me a Christian husband and children.”

Hope was poor in spirit and always happy to simply serve and love Christ, while she waited on the answers to her prayers.

Lord, thank you for blessing those who are poor in spirit with the kingdom of Heaven.

About celestecharlene

I served as a medical missionary in West Africa for thirty years treating the sick and establishing health clinics in rural neglected areas.
This entry was posted in missions. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

