JANUARY 7

BLESSED ARE THE MEEK
Matthew 5:5 “Blessed are the meek, for they will inherit the earth.”
The chief of the village became a Christian in in his older years. He couldn’t read, so he had never read the Bible but attended church faithfully each Sunday.

The village was in a central location for my health program. After talking to the chief, he said I could have any piece of land in the village to build my home since there were no empty houses available.

The chief and I walked several miles from one end of the village to the other. He pointed to a piece of land on the left and asked if I wanted it. “No.”

After walking again, he pointed to another piece of land and asked once more if I wanted it.
“No.”

After a quarter of a mile he looked bewildered when I once again declined another piece of property.
If the chief had been an ordinary man, I’d have accepted the first piece of land he offered, but I had witnessed God’s spirit in him and sensed his humble character.
After walking another mile I pointed to a piece of land and asked, “May I have this land?”
The chief’s eyes sparkled. “God has directed you to my own personal land, which I will give you immediately. If you had chosen another land it would have been difficult to negotiate with unbelievers to get it. This is a miracle.”

The chief had the legal right to rule over me and tell me where to live, but he served me and asked me what piece of land I wanted.

The chief was a meek man and he was blessed.

About celestecharlene

I served as a medical missionary in West Africa for thirty years treating the sick and establishing health clinics in rural neglected areas.
This entry was posted in missions. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

