JANUARY 9

 

BLESSED ARE THE MERCIFUL

Matthew 5:7 “Blessed are the merciful for they will be shown mercy.”

Whenever I hired anyone to run an errand in town, I always gave her transportation money. These ladies walked several times a week to do their own shopping and were used to it, so they often chose to keep the money and walk home.

I hired Mrs. Tacha to buy groceries in the market and bring them home each week while I went to a village to treat the sick. She was very late arriving one evening and told me this story.

“At the main junction eight miles to our village there were many women resting.  My friend promised to give me a ride home in his car, but I gave my place to Mrs. Ala. She was not well and had her six-month-old baby.  It was a hot day and I knew she wasn’t strong enough to walk for two hours, so I walked all the way.”

Mrs. Tacha gave her seat to another woman and walked two hours home in the hot sun. She showed mercy.

Lord Jesus, help us always show mercy to others.

 

 

About celestecharlene

I served as a medical missionary in West Africa for thirty years treating the sick and establishing health clinics in rural neglected areas.
This entry was posted in missions. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to JANUARY 9

  1. mflabar says:

    Yes, she showed mercy.

Leave a Reply

