JANUARY 25

TURN THE OTHER CHEEK

Matthew 5:38-39

“You have heard that it was said, Eye for eye, and tooth for tooth. But I tell you do not resist an evil person. If someone strikes you on the right cheek, turn to him the other also.

African children had their own ideas about “turning the other cheek.”

One day several boys were fighting. I stopped it and asked, “Didn’t Jesus tell us to turn the other cheek?”

The boys said,  “Yes.”

“What does that mean?”

“If someone hits me on my cheek, I will turn his cheek and hit him very well for hitting me on my cheek.”

“But Madam,” one of the boys said. “Our cheeks were not fighting. Our whole bodies, arms, legs, heads, and chests were fighting each other. No one can turn his whole body away from a fight.”

Another one said, “Only a stupid boy would stand there and let himself get hit a second time. No one will ever agree to doing that.”

“Jesus said, if someone strikes you on the right cheek, turn to him the other also.”

Now what does that mean?

 

About celestecharlene

I served as a medical missionary in West Africa for thirty years treating the sick and establishing health clinics in rural neglected areas.
This entry was posted in missions. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to JANUARY 25

  1. mflabar says:

    I don’t think it means “stand your ground” with a gun when someone threatens me personally.

Leave a Reply

