FEBRUARY 10

LIFE IS MORE IMPORTANT THAN FOOD

Matthew 6:25 “Therefore I tell you, do not worry about your life, what you will eat or drink; or about your body, what you will wear. Is not life more important than food, and the body more important than clothes?”

I sometimes thought everyone on the African continent knew how much I loved mangoes. The first year I was there, I bought mangoes from every seller who came to my house.

Every year more and more people came with mangoes.  One day during the last year I was there I came home from work and found 75 mangoes in my living room.

God said to never worry about what we would eat. He would provide and always does because our lives are more important than food.

PS Please don’t run to the store and buy a mango. They are plucked green and imported from strange places to the States. They are the bitterest, most sour things I’ve ever eaten. Go to Africa and get a tree-ripened mango if you want to try one.

About celestecharlene

I served as a medical missionary in West Africa for thirty years treating the sick and establishing health clinics in rural neglected areas.
This entry was posted in missions. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to FEBRUARY 10

  1. mflabar says:

    You can get some pretty good mangoes in US grocery stores — get the soft ones.

Leave a Reply

