FEBRUARY 19

ASK AND SEEK AND KNOCK

Matthew 7:7 “Ask and it will be given to you; seek and you will find; knock and the door will be opened to you.”

My supporting church in the States wrote saying it no longer wanted to support foreign missionaries. They wanted to give their finances only to home missions.

I asked the Lord and sought His will but also contacted different mission boards.

Each response was the same. They suggested I return to the States, find another supporting church, and submit an official application to the mission board. They would interview me and consider my qualifications and education before deciding. The process of applying, being accepted, attending classes, and raising support would take six years.

I had already attended mission classes, had a degree, and had been working in Africa for several years.

As I prayed, God told me I’d been knocking on the wrong doors. The Lord told me to approach the church president of the largest evangelical church in West Africa.

The indigenous African church accepted me after one interview.

Sometimes we can fritter our lives away asking, seeking, and knocking on the wrong doors.

Lord, give us wisdom to knock on the door that you want.

 

About celestecharlene

I served as a medical missionary in West Africa for thirty years treating the sick and establishing health clinics in rural neglected areas.
This entry was posted in missions. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

