MARCH 11

WHY ARE YOU SO AFRAID?

Matthew 8:26-27 “He replied, “You of little faith, why are you so afraid? Then he got up and rebuked the winds and the waves, and it was completely calm. The men were amazed and asked, “What kind of man is this? Even the winds and the waves obey him.”

Thieves came one night, broke into the shed. and stole my chickens. They returned the following week and stole the buckets of chicken feed.

As I walked home in the dark, another week had passed and I feared the thieves would return. I prayed but had no peace that God would keep me safe. My heart beat frantically. I jumped at every sound I heard along the trail, imagining a gang of thugs attacking me, but no one was there. Dread took hold of me and I couldn’t shake it, no matter how much or hard I prayed. I lost what little faith I had.

Terror griped me in its clutches. A helplessness seized me. Hopelessness wrapped itself around me.

There was no reason to be afraid. The Lord was with me, but I didn’t believe it.

“Lord, please give me peace. I need faith.”

When I reached my house, I barricaded myself inside. I prayed and read the scriptures for an hour. I finally calmed down but terror had exhausted me. I went to bed and fell into a deep peaceful sleep.

I thank and praise Jesus. He kept me safe as He always did.

We may lose our faith, but the Lord does not lose us. He will take us through those times when our faith has left.

eaping

About celestecharlene

I served as a medical missionary in West Africa for thirty years treating the sick and establishing health clinics in rural neglected areas.
This entry was posted in missions. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

