MAY 5

MY YOKE IS EASY AND MY BURDEN IS LIGHT

Matthew 11:29-30 “Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.”
A yoke is a frame for harnessing two oxen together to work. It symbolizes servitude or bondage. One animal alone can’t get the job done which is why the yoke is needed. This tells me that I, alone can’t do anything. But if I am yoked with Christ, we can get the job done.
Jesus doesn’t promise us a life of luxury. We share a yoke with Him to work hard in His Kingdom. Jesus is stronger, so the weight of our task and problems falls on his big shoulders. He carries the bulk of the load.
When we acknowledge Him as our Lord, we are harnessed with Him. Yoked together with Him, we are in close proximity to the Lord. He bears the heavy burden, so the load is easy and light.
Lord Jesus, thank you.

About celestecharlene

I served as a medical missionary in West Africa for thirty years treating the sick and establishing health clinics in rural neglected areas.
This entry was posted in missions. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

