MAY 21

WHOEVER DOES THE WILL OF MY FATHER IN HEAVEN

Matthew 12:48-50 “He replied to him, “Who is my mother, and who are my brothers? Pointing to his disciples, he said, here are my mother and my brother. For whoever does the will of my father in heaven is my brother and sister and mother.”
Someone in the crowd told Jesus that his mother and brothers had come to see Him. Jesus said that whoever does the will of His Father in heaven is His brother and sister and mother.
Jesus was paving the way for a Christian world in which fellow believers would become part of God’s family on earth. The spiritual relationships between believers would become as binding and maybe closer than the physical relationships of one’s family.

I’ve found this true during my years in Africa. My African assistants, who lived and worked with me became nearer and dearer to me than my own siblings. We prayed together. I confided in them and trusted them even with my life. Now that’s close.

The Christian workers and I had a common and united focus and mission. We preached the Gospel to the lost and treated the sick.

About celestecharlene

I served as a medical missionary in West Africa for thirty years treating the sick and establishing health clinics in rural neglected areas.
This entry was posted in missions. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

