JUNE 4

 

THE WORRIES OF THIS LIFE AND DECEITFULNESS OF WEALTH CHOKED IT

June 4

Matthew 13:22 “The one who received the seed that fell among the thorns is the man who hears the word, but the worries of this life and the deceitfulness of wealth choked it, making it unfruitful.”

It’s easy to say we will stop worrying, but it is often hard to do it.

Some of the African Christians had the most solid and inspirational trust in the Lord that I’ve ever seen.

One young man came to my house and said, “I need you to pray. My wife is still recovering and hasn’t been able to sell any firewood. And my crops aren’t ready to harvest yet, but I thank God my children are healthy and doing well. I trust God will provide for us.”

He believed it, didn’t appear to worry, and went about his work, trusting God.

A few days later, he came to tell me how the Lord provided by sending people to buy the firewood his wife had stored at their house.

If you want to worry, look at someone less fortunate than you, who might have a lot of troubles but doesn’t appear concerned.

Or better yet, look to Heaven and your life with Christ for all eternity.

Don’t let the worries of this world control you.

 

 

 

About celestecharlene

I served as a medical missionary in West Africa for thirty years treating the sick and establishing health clinics in rural neglected areas.
This entry was posted in missions. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

