JULY 27

NOTHING WILL BE IMPOSSIBLE FOR YOU</strong>

Matthew 17:20-21 “Because you have so little faith I tell you the truth, if you have faith as small as a mustard seem you can say to this mountain, Move from here to there and it will move.  Nothing will be impossible for you.”
There were no permanent places for me to live in my newly assigned village. I’d already worked in Africa for fifteen years and had an extra ten thousand dollars in funding and thought about building a home.
Over the years I had grown weary of living in mud houses and village dwellings. I believe it was God’s will to finally have my own place.
I prepared a grandiose house plan with ten rooms. Honestly, I can’t remember why I thought I needed all those rooms as a single lady in an isolated village, but maybe I was just tired of my last mud room.
The mason said a house that size would cost twenty thousand dollars.
I cried and prayed to the Lord. Nothing was impossible for God. I believed He would provide the money to build the house, but it never came.
After several months of praying I said, Lord, I have a lot of faith and you’ve done many impossible things for me. Please Lord, help me.
Then I heard God’s voice as clearly as if it were audible.
Be reasonable. You don’t need a house this size.
I drew up a new house plan with an open combination kitchen, living and dining room and three other rooms.  It cost ten thousand dollars.
I didn’t <strong>need </strong><em>a large house. Sometime we have the faith of a mustard seed, but maybe the mountain doesn’t <strong>need</strong> to be moved.

 

About celestecharlene

I served as a medical missionary in West Africa for thirty years treating the sick and establishing health clinics in rural neglected areas.
This entry was posted in missions. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

