AUGUST 1

LIKE A LITTLE CHILD

Matthew 18:3-4 “He called a little child and had him stand among them. And he said, “I tell you the truth, unless you change and become like little children, you will never enter the kingdom of heaven.”

Four-year old Nonnie was too young to attend the Good News club, but she came. And I never sent any child away.

When Nonnie arrived, she was wearing her pink church dress and clutched three small rocks to her chest. I had promised a child a bar of soap if he brought me ten rocks. When the children asked me for pencils, notebooks, chalk, or soap, I gave them a job to earn the item.

At the end of the program, her father arrived from his farm to walk her home.

“Look, Papa. Here’s a bar of soap for you to bathe because I’ve already taken my bath.”

A needle and thread was payment for another ten rocks.

When her father arrived, she asked, “Papa, why do I need this needle and thread when my dress is not torn?”

Her father said, “Your mother’s dress is torn, so now she can fix it.”

Over a hundred children came every week carrying rocks. Then we had our Bible story, songs, and prayers. But not one child ever asked me why I needed a yard full of rocks. (I wanted gravel around my home to hear people approach and be able to see snakes or scorpions.)

The children simply believed me and did what I asked.

Jesus said unless you become like a little child….

They trusted. We, too, must believe the words of Christ to enter the kingdom of heaven.

 

 

About celestecharlene

I served as a medical missionary in West Africa for thirty years treating the sick and establishing health clinics in rural neglected areas.
This entry was posted in missions. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

