AUGUST 2

ONE LITTLE CHILD

Matthew 18:5 “Whoever receives one little child like this in my name receives Me.”

Whenever Mrs. Kaku brought her three year old son, Caleb, she whispered something in his ear. He pressed his lips closed and pulled them into his mouth. But I never paid much attention because I was always busy treating the other sick children she brought.

Mrs. Kaku did some work for me and wanted a ball for Caleb. After I gave him the ball he carried it around with him everywhere he went.

One day I asked Mrs. Kaku why Caleb pulled his lips into his mouth whenever he saw me. She said she warned Caleb that if he was ever bad, the white lady would cut off his lips.

“Do you think I would do this?” I asked.

“No, but we scare our children to make them behave. We also tell them if they are bad the white lady will eat them or cut off their black skin.”

“NO!” I said. “I’m going to take Caleb’s ball away.” Then I took it.

I gave the ball to his mother and said, “Caleb, I would never cut off your lips or hurt you. If you misbehave, your mother will take away your ball and give it to me. Have you obeyed your parents?”

He nodded. I gave him the ball. He smiled. After that he always grinned at me.

Be honest. Tell children the truth. Don’t give them empty, scary threats. Children are trusting by nature. Unless we show them they cannot trust us. The way we receive a little child could have a profound effect on him for the rest of his life.

Whoever receives one little child like this in my name receives Me.

 

 

About celestecharlene

I served as a medical missionary in West Africa for thirty years treating the sick and establishing health clinics in rural neglected areas.
This entry was posted in missions. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

