Do not offend a little one

Who are the little ones?

I used to think a little one was a child as in Matthew 18:5-6 “And whoso shall receive one such little child in my name receiveth me. But whoso shall offend one of these little ones which believeth in me, it were better for him that a millstone were hanged about his neck, and that he were drowned in the depth of the sea.”

But Matthew 10:42 implies little ones are believers, Christ’s followers.

“And if anyone gives even a cup of cold water to one of these little ones because he is my disciple I tell you the truth, he will certainly not lose his reward.”

Maybe little ones are either children or new believers?

Yusef, a boy sixteen years old came one Wednesday afternoon to participate in the Children’s Good News Club. But the cut-off date for them was fourteen years. Then they could attend youth activities at the church.  

I encouraged Yusef to stay with the children. However, I was concerned that the small ones would tease him for being so much bigger than they were.  

Yusef was a determined lad.  “Madam, I am like one of these little children.  I do not know anything about Jesus or church. I want to start at the beginning like a little child to learn about these things.” 

He attended the children’s program for six months and learned Bible stories, spiritual lessons and memory verses along with the little ones. Then he left and joined the youth group at church. A few months later he accepted Jesus as His Savior and was baptized.

Let’s encourage all new believers, younger people and little children. Receive and accept everyone who may not be as mature as we are, junior or smaller to us. 

“If anyone gives even a cup of cold water to one of these little ones he will not loose his reward.”

Let’s give that cup of refreshment or encouragement to all new believers and those younger than we are.  

Blessings,

Celeste

About celestecharlene

I served as a medical missionary in West Africa for thirty years treating the sick and establishing health clinics in rural neglected areas.
This entry was posted in missions. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.