DO WHAT’S RIGHT

For some time, I’ve struggled over a personal conflict. In my heart I knew what I needed to do, but it was so hard, and there seemed to be too many obstacles in the way for me to achieve success.

As I was praying, I heard God’s voice saying, “Do what’s right.”

Then I remembered God also told this to Cain. I opened the Bible and reread the story in Genesis 4 (NIV).  “If you do what is right, will you not be accepted? But if you do not do what is right, sin is crouching at your door; it desires to have you, but you must rule over it.” (Verse 7)

Adam and Eve taught their sons to make sacrifices to the Lord. Abel kept flocks and brought the firstborn of his animals while Cain worked the ground and brought the fruits of that.

The Lord favored Abel’s blood sacrifice but did not favor Cain’s fruit sacrifice, so Cain was angry.

God said to Cain, “Why are you angry? Why is your face so sad? If you do what is right, will you not be accepted.”

I wanted to do what was right. I believed if I took those first few steps to do the right thing, the Lord would knock down the discouragements and doubts that surrounded me from doing the right thing.

Praise God, the Lord did that.

About celestecharlene

I served as a medical missionary in West Africa for thirty years treating the sick and establishing health clinics in rural neglected areas.
This entry was posted in missions. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.