FOR GOD SO LOVED THE WORLD

I’ve been helping someone for the past few weeks. This lady is offensive, smells awful, is obnoxious and hypocritical. It would be easy to tell her I don’t want to help her and would even be justifiable in this case. Why don’t I?

Sometimes we don’t enjoy doing what God has called us to do as Christians. Look at our Savior. I don’t believe Jesus enjoyed being beaten for our sins. He couldn’t have liked the nails hammered in his hands. Dying on the cross wasn’t a pleasant experience. He was wounded for our transgressions. Through it all, the Father’s love flowed through Him. He did it for love. He loved us.

If the Lord can love me in spite of myself and my offenses, I should be able to love others, but sometimes it’s hard. So I step out in obedience and do it, not because I’m a martyr, nor scoring points for the hereafter. That isn’t possible. “For by grace you are saved and not of yourselves. It is a gift of God.” Ephesians 2:8.

Later as I’ve spent time helping the person, God’s love flows out of me. Truly I do love the person over time, but not me. It is the Christ in me.

Step out in obedience and faith. Minister to the individual. Even though it’s unpleasant and nasty at first. Christ’s love and His compassion will fill you and overflow into this person.

“Because of His great love for us, God who is rich in mercy, made us alive with Christ even when we were dead in our transgressions.” Ephesians 2:4

Thanks for joining me today.

Celeste

About celestecharlene

I served as a medical missionary in West Africa for thirty years treating the sick and establishing health clinics in rural neglected areas.
This entry was posted in missions. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to FOR GOD SO LOVED THE WORLD

  1. mflabar says:

    I may use this on Sunday. Thanks.

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.